Stair way head room

General discussion for the drafter involved with this discipline of drafting.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Stair way head room

Postby nicnicman on Sun Jun 26, 2011 9:52 am

I am drafting a set of plans for a small camp. For whatever reason (cost), the client did not want to go through an architect and took it upon themselves to hand draw some plans on graph paper. These are amateur drawings and the client requested that I convert them to a set of working construction plans. Building codes are lenient here in Maine, US and don't require an architect or engineer, plus it is a relatively simple plan so I decided to take the job. I am a professional, albeit new, drafter and have completed several similar projects successfully in the past.

Everything seemed pretty straight forward, but as I began the drawing I found that there was not enough room to fit certain things. For example, a set of straight stairs that goes from the "breezeway" to the second floor lacks head room. What I thought might work is placing the header of the stairs in the "breezeway" to give the necessary headroom. I have attached some very rough drawings to illustrate what I mean. Please disregard the washer/dryer space problems and other issues at this time. I am focusing solely on the stairway at the moment.

Do you think this stairway configuration will work or do the stairs need to be moved further into the main house?
Attachments
camp-Layout2.pdf
Second Floor
(26.88 KiB) Downloaded 248 times
camp-Layout1.pdf
First Floor
(21.35 KiB) Downloaded 247 times
nicnicman

Re: Stair way head room

Postby wai on Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:56 am

While there might not be local authority rules that will be enforced, there is something you need to consider.